Red Riding Hood Spikey Trees

March 24, 2011 at 5:31 am 8 comments

The image of the trees in the woods of the movie Red Riding Hood keeps coming back to me.  Valerie walks through the woods risking being impaled by spear-like branches that point straight towards her.  They symbolically say that when she leaves the village or wanders off the civilized path she is in danger.

The spikes are somewhat phallic, and not in a passive way.  Valerie is drawn to the woods, even as a child she was comfortable there, with Peter.  Eventually Red chooses to live there marking her sexual awakening.  The spikes play with the relationship between fear and passion.  The recognition of desire over-ridingb fear speaks to its intensity.

Entry filed under: Archetype theory, Film Summaries. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Red Riding Hood Lars and the Real Girl

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. REVIEW: Red Riding Hood  |  April 13, 2011 at 12:01 am

    […] Red Riding Hood Spikey Trees on The Virgin Promise Blog by Kim Hudson […]

    Reply
  • 2. Kate  |  April 13, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Hi Kim, I’ve just referenced this post in my review of Red Riding Hood. I’d love to hear if you have any comments!
    http://www.vividscribe.com/red-riding-hood/

    Reply
    • 3. thevirginspromise  |  April 13, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Great review on vividscribe.com. I agree the plot failed to deliver. You make a great point about the feeling being similar to New Moon, etc. I still find the world of Red stays with me and I want to visit it again. Thanks for making your blog known to me. I’ll visit it often!

      Reply
      • 4. Kate  |  April 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

        Hi Kim,
        Thanks for your feedback, I’m happy you like the review. With all of its flaws, there’s enough in this movie to provide some real food for thought. In regards to your field, what do you make of the recent trend of fairytale adaptation in Hollywood?
        Kate

      • 5. thevirginspromise  |  April 14, 2011 at 8:09 am

        There is definitely a trend to explore fairy tales these days. Did you hear there is a movie version of Snow White in the works?

        I have a theory about this. Myths are about facing our fear of death and learning to be strong, rugged and brave. These are masculine Hero stories that suit an industrial age. I think we are moving into a more creative time and this requires a journey into our subconscious, a desire to awaken some aspect of our interior world and bring it to life. This is where fairy tales come in. Virgin stories. Red Ridinghood wants to get off the path of being a good girl and explore her sexuality, Cinderella wants to stop serving others and follow her own dream. Sleeping Beauty just needs to wake up and see that she has gifts to bring to the world!

        I think we are looking back at these tales and wanting the ancient stories from a time when magic was real and everything had meaning, not the Disney versions that were designed to keep people in line with strong fear-based constraints.

        I’ll be blogging on fairy tales in May as I build up to my workshop on fairy tales in Vancouver June 26th. Hope you have time to make more great comments.

  • 6. Kate  |  April 14, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Indeed there are three different versions of Snow White currently in production, and also a Hansel and Gretel. I’ve written about them here: http://www.vividscribe.com/an-alternative-version-the-fairytale-trend-and-hollywood/
    That article also gives my take on the trend.

    What you write about female archetypes in fairytales is interesting. I have to remark on your comment about Cinderella – she wants to follow her dream, which is marriage. What does this say about female archetypes?

    Fairytale theory is of great interest to me, and I’ll also be writing more on it as all of these new films hit our screens. I look forward to your coming work on the topic, It will be great to throw some more discussion around.

    Reply
  • 7. thevirginspromise  |  April 15, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Really enjoyed your blog on fairy tales. Several new movies to watch! My favorite modern versions of Little Red are Shadow of a Doubt, The Accused, and An Education. Great themes of girls having to beware of the wolf and wanting the kingdom to make room for her as a vibrant, sexual woman, not just a good girl.

    On CInderella, I like the Ever After version where her goal is to bring the values of Utopia to the kingdom. The get married version may be propoganda started in the days of French parlour stories to keep girls under control.

    Cheers

    Reply
  • 8. Greger  |  May 10, 2011 at 1:47 am

    I have been afraid of this story since my Grandmother read it to me when I was little. And – as a result – I’m scared as hell of wolves although I live 2000 miles away from the closest wild animal 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Share this blog


Bookmark and Share
<!-- AddThis Button END -

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Feeds

The Virgin’s Promise

Writing Feminine Stories of Creative, spiritual and Sexual Awakening

Books Available at Michael Wiese Productions and Amazon

Go to http://shop.mwp.com/collections/film-books

Top Rated


